Patient-Centered Medical Home

The Patient-Centered Medical Home (PCMH) is a care model that puts patients at the forefront of care. PCMHs build better relationships between patients and their clinical care teams. Research shows that PCMH further drives a health care organization's achievement of the 'Quadruple Aim’ — improving population health and patient and provider experiences while reducing the overall health care costs. The Quadruple Aim is a compass guiding the direction that the health system — including both patients and providers — needs to go in. Practices that earn PCMH recognition have committed to continuous quality improvement.

As value-based care becomes more prevalent in Utah, the quality of care that Utah's health centers provide becomes essential.

The following Utah health centers are PCMH recognized: Carbon Medical Service Association, Inc; Community Health Centers, Inc; Enterprise Valley Medical Clinic; Family Healthcare; Mountainlands Family Health Center; Utah Navajo Health System, Inc; Utah Partners for Health; and Wayne Community Health Centers.

Accreditation Association for Ambulatory Health Care

Since 1979, the Accreditation Association for Ambulatory Health Care (AAAHC) has been a leader in ambulatory health care accreditation, with more than 6,100 organizations accredited. AAAHC accredit a wide range of outpatient settings, including but not limited to:

  • Ambulatory surgery centers
  • Office-based surgery facilities
  • Endoscopy centers
  • Student health centers
  • Medical and dental group practices
  • Community health centers
  • Employer-based health clinics
  • Retail clinics
  • Indian/Tribal health centers

AAAHC advocates for the provision of high-quality health care through the development and adoption of nationally recognized standards providing a valuable survey experience founded on a peer-based, educational approach to on-site review. The AAAHC Certificate of Accreditation demonstrates an organization's commitment to providing safe, high-quality services to its patients. It is recognized by third-party payers, medical professional associations, liability insurance companies, state and federal agencies, and the public.

National Committee for Quality Assurance

The National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA) exists to improve the quality of health care. NCQA's PCHM recognition program is the country's most widely adopted evaluation program. NCQA recognizes approximately13,00 practices with 67,00 clinics. More than 95 organizations support the NCQA recognition through financial incentives, transformation support, care management, learning collaboration, or MOC credit. The patient-centered medical home is a model of care that puts patients at the forefront of care. PCMHs build better relationships between patients and their clinical care teams.

The Joint Commission

The Joint Commission is the recognized global leader for health care accreditation. They are an independent, not-for-profit organization, offering an unbiased assessment of the clinic's quality patient care and safety achievements. They set global standards and raise the bar in quality improvement and patient safety. With accelerate progress through collaboration and communication, they will push health care organizations beyond just accreditation.